square rimmed, live edge bowl question. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 10-23-2011, 10:24 PM Thread Starter

View tymann09's Photo Album My Photos
square rimmed, live edge bowl question.

hey guys. so i decided to do something completely different from what i normally do. I wanted to do a square rimmed, live edge bowl. So i picked a piece of spalted butternut i found. real pretty actually. i did alright with getting the general shape down and whatnot as you can see in the pictures. however i'm having trouble with getting a clean cut on the spalted wood. theres a ton of tearout, and it's deep too. I'm using a fingernail gouge very sharp too. could it be because the lathe is running so slow? I was also having trouble sanding because it was just clogging up my sandpaper, rendering it useless. any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. I'm still fairly new to turning. this is only my third green bowl.

-Tyler
www.TJGwoodworking.com

GOT WOOD?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 10-23-2011, 10:57 PM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
Been fighting tearout myself on some spalted maple. Here's what I do. First of all is sharp tools. Sometimes sharp isn't enough, you need a more acute angle to the tool. My bowl gouge is sharpened at 50 degrees. When I have trouble I change to gouge that is 40 degrees. If that doesn't work I change to a spindle gouge that is 35 degrees. Of course that assumes you can still rub the bevel.
Now the next trick is to not force the cut. When you turn at slow speeds it very hard not to push the tool too fast. speed up the lathe, relax and let the tool do the cutting. That and the sharper cutting angle usually does the job but no on really problem woods.