Skew - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 08-10-2010, 11:22 PM Thread Starter

View Itchy Brother's Photo Album My Photos
Skew

Ive been trying to get a little used to the skew.Long part of the point Up or Down??

***For the record*** Ive made hundreds of guitar bodies,never put one together and cant play a note.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 08-11-2010, 04:39 AM

View nblumert's Photo Album My Photos
The long point is at the top. It takes some time getting used to.
Nick
post #3 of 11 Old 08-11-2010, 06:47 AM
HALL OF FAMER

View Kenbo's Photo Album My Photos
I'm no expert by any means Gary, but I'm hoping that someone will correct me on this if I'm wrong. I have always thought that if you are using the skew from left to right, then the long poing is at the top left. If you are using the skew from the right to the left, then the long point is at the top right. Am I right on this fellas?

There is a very fine line between a "hobby" and a "mental illness"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 Old 08-11-2010, 08:47 AM

View NCPaladin's Photo Album My Photos
Like many things….it all depends.
Typically, for planing cuts or rolling beads the long point would be up and the cut made in the lower ˝ of the blade down to the short point.
However, for the V cut the long point is down so that you can see what you are doing.
I heartily suggest Alan Lacer’s DVD "The Skew, The Dark Side & The Sweet Side".
He shows and explains not only how to use it but also very clearly what happens when you use it wrong (catches, skates, spirals).
Kenbo, either way you describe, the long point is at the top so you are correct.
I’m no expert either but I try to be a good student.
post #5 of 11 Old 08-11-2010, 08:50 AM

View Dvoigt's Photo Album My Photos