Should I Try a Segmented Bowl Build Thread?Also? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 18 Old 02-15-2012, 12:07 AM Thread Starter

View Lola Ranch's Photo Album My Photos
Should I Try a Segmented Bowl Build Thread?Also?

Inspired by others on this forum, I was thinking about doing a segmented bowl build thread myself. I was thinking I'd wait until a do a few more turnings and have gained more experience. I've done several coopered cylinder turnings that became humidors, urns, cove molding, curved drawer fronts, etc. But these twobowls that I did the last couple of days are my first using the stacked segmented ring method.

I've got a lot of experience with different aesthetic laminating techniques that I want to incorporate into this genre..

I built a really nifty strap ring clamp that allows me to quickly glue up individual rings and press them flat simultaneously. With Titebond II I found thhat I can get the ring out of the clamp in about fifteen minutes which allowed me to build the bowl with the diamond pattern from rough lumber to finished bowl within an eight hour day. I was a litle worried about the cure time an was ready for the thing to blow up on the lathe but it held togehter.

I turned a burl lid for the one but I don't like it on that bowl. I'll save it and use it on something else.

Let me know if you want to see more.

Bret.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P2140331.jpg
Views:	345
Size:	97.2 KB
ID:	38381  

Name:	P2140333.jpg
Views:	233
Size:	89.6 KB
ID:	38382  

Name:	P2140335.jpg
Views:	240
Size:	87.5 KB
ID:	38383  

Name:	P2140336.jpg
Views:	242
Size:	87.6 KB
ID:	38384  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 02-15-2012, 12:26 AM
No Longer Here

View MastersHand's Photo Album My Photos
Your Ready even if it doesn't go as planned the first time the experience you gain out ways a failure. There are no Problems or Mistakes only Situations you overcome. The biggest Mistake you can make is not trying