Sharpening system verse grinding wheel??? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 04-15-2011, 12:29 PM Thread Starter
eurekajon

View eurekajon's Photo Album My Photos
Sharpening system verse grinding wheel???

We all know about the tradional grinder, but does anyone have a sharpening system called the WORK SHARP TOOL SHARPENER by Work Sharp/Drill doctor at www.worksharptools .com. The videos look good and easy,but?? Does anyone have this system and what do you think about it. I'm just beginning to aquire the tools I need and I have an older grinder and need a white ston wheel. Whats out there eurekajon
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 04-15-2011, 02:27 PM

View wildwood's Photo Album My Photos
I cannot knock the Work Sharp system other than ask what is cost to buy and maintain? Some turners over at Woodnet.com were raving about their Work Sharp Systems and homemade jigs month or so ago.

Think can get same results from a belt sander at much less cost.

A dry bench grinder and sharpening jig system still least expensive sharpening option around for woodturners. AO friable wheels not expensive if you shop the sales. Hartville Tool often runs sales on their grinding wheels. Another inexpensive place to buy wheels is Sharpening Supplies.

http://www.hartvilletool.com

http://www.sharpeningsupplies.com
post #3 of 10 Old 04-15-2011, 04:48 PM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
As near as I can tell there isn't any magical sharpener. A grinder or strip sander with a sharpening jig system like the Oneway system with the Wolverine jig is about at close as it comes.
something like the worksharp is probably excellent for flat tools like chisels and plane irons but Lathe tools are a whole different animal. I mean you have every thing from scrapers and rough out gouges to bowl gouges and spindle gouges, all with different shapes.