Sharpening a round nose scraper - leaving a bur - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 10-24-2008, 10:23 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member from MN

View Daveb's Photo Album My Photos
Sharpening a round nose scraper - leaving a bur

I am new to turning and have a sharpening jig.

I have read that a scraper should have a bur on the edge. I assume this bur is on the top, leading edge of the scraper. The top edge is slightly longer than the bottom edge due to the bevel.

In all the sharpening instructions I have seen or read, the tool is placed with the bottom surface on the grinding table and the grinding wheel travels from the top edge to the bottom edge of the tool. Won't this tend to place a bur on the bottom edge instead of the top edge, as it "pulls" material downward? Or is it just the fact that the top edge is sharp? I am confused on this point. Is there any benefit in sharpening a scraper upside down?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 10-24-2008, 03:25 PM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
if you place the bottom down it will raise a burr on the top. I've read the reason why and won't go into it here because I would probably misquote something but trust me, it works.
I will often use a medium diamond hone to raise the burr instead of the grinder. I polish the old burr off by rubbing the hone flat on the top. then I run the hone up the bevel from bottom to top several times until I have raised the burr I want.
post #3 of 4 Old 10-25-2008, 02:45 AM

View Mitch Cholewinski's Photo Album My Photos
Dave