sharpening of lathe tools - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 18 Old 12-17-2007, 03:32 PM Thread Starter

View eazis1's Photo Album My Photos
sharpening of lathe tools

wood like to find out from different woodturners on their method of sharpening/grinding of the lathe tools. I am a newbie and heard there are few ways from homemade to about spending $300.00 for machine and accessories. I have a basic 3750rph grinder and a 3" belt sander right now.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 12-17-2007, 04:11 PM
Just call me Sir

View littlebuddha's Photo Album My Photos
i have answered your mail, now you have told me a little more. welcome to the forum.
Most like get others telling you how they work, so just pick out what suits you, try the downloads of my site and go from there. LB..
post #3 of 18 Old 12-18-2007, 04:03 PM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
I've use a lot of different methods over the years. I started with a disc sander. Then I switched to a 3" belt sander mounted on it's back. I've also used a 1" strip sander. Now I use an 8" grinder that runs 1750 rpm. A 3450rpm grinder is just fine as well.
Many people now use a grinding jig such as the Oneway Wolverine grinding jig..
The best advice I can offer is to find someone near you who turns and have them show you how they sharpen. There isn't just one correct way.
I would highly recommend the AAW sharpening video. They show you how to sharpen several different ways. I think the web site is www.woodturners.org
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 18 Old 12-18-2007, 09:51 PM

View Ken Johnson's Photo Album My Photos
Another good option is finding a good sharpening service in your area. Often you can get lathe tools sharpened for around $3 each. My personal preference is to stick to woodworking and leave the sharpening up to the experts.

Ken

"What we hope ever to do with ease, we must first learn to do with diligence".
- Samuel Johnson
post #5 of 18 Old 12-18-2007, 10:04 PM