self-powered sanding devices - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 13 Old 10-31-2011, 07:43 PM Thread Starter

View D. Frana's Photo Album My Photos
self-powered sanding devices

I'm thinking about getting one of the self-powered sanding devices such as the sorby sandmaster or the skilton sander. What are your opinions on them? I mostly turn small to medium sized boxes and bowls. How do they compare to the drill-driven method?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 10-31-2011, 09:00 PM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
I don't think they compare at all. I made one. For my hand mirrors they don't work well at all. The slower middle area of the mirror just doesn't turn it affectively. I can sand faster by hand. On bowls is does better but I don't think it begins to match my drill. I just use a Dewalt $60 drill. I burned up several skill and off brand cheapies that were in the $30 to $40 range. They just don't hold up. I've been using this one for 6 years. I do have to use 2 hands, it's not a one hand holder like the angled drills but then it cost less than half and I feel I have much better control with 2 hands anyway.
post #3 of 13 Old 10-31-2011, 09:26 PM
Sydney, Australia

View hughie's Photo Album My Photos
enertia or random elliptical sanders

With these sort of sanders you need speed and they are not suited to every application. I do mainly bowls and have found them very handy.In fact I have 4-5 of them right down to the smallest with a 1" head for sanding inside small HF bowls. Having seen Johns mirrors I not surprised they dont work effectively for him.

But as I said you need speed to drive them effectively, I typically sand around 800-1200 rpm on my bowls etc.This gives the driving power required to sand effectively.

Theres a few tricks to getting the best out of them, one is to cut your paper an 1/8 to 1/4wider than the sanding pad. This protects the velcro pad from the feathering effect as you work across your job.