Sanding on the lathe. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 09-08-2008, 11:57 AM Thread Starter

View Dvoigt's Photo Album My Photos
Sanding on the lathe.

I'm new to the turning world. I bought a small lathe and have just done some pen turning. I was starting to try and make some of the Christmas tree ornaments and I'm having a hard time sanding out the scratches. There are a lot of curves and I even tried to do a perfectly round one.

My issue is that I'm having a hard time sanding out the scratches. The parts are small and the curves make is difficult to be able to sand with the grain in all the areas. What is the best way to achieve a scratch free finish on these small things? I tried to take them off the lathe and do it by hand while holding the parts, but that didn't work too well.

Thanks
Derek
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 09-08-2008, 12:34 PM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
I do two things. If at all possible I sand with the grain between grits. Then don't skip any grits. Keep the sandpaper moving all the time. If you don't you get more scatches because it picks up a piece of grit and that sticks to the paper and it's like running a board through a planer with a nick in the blade, only reversed.
Inspect the wood very closely between each grit. It helps if can blow it off because dust sticks in the sanding scratches and hides them. I don't use the blower on small stuff but will keep a rag handy and dust the piece between each grit.
post #3 of 7 Old 09-08-2008, 01:47 PM

View Byrney's Photo Album My Photos