Rigid 1/2 hp wood lathe - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 05-26-2011, 10:19 AM Thread Starter

View panhandler's Photo Album My Photos
Rigid 1/2 hp wood lathe

Hi! I am relatively new to wood working. To this point, the extent of my experience is a doll house for my girls, simple shelves, and some odds and ends repairs.

I have been interested in wood turning for quite some time, but have wanted to ease into the craft. I have been looking for a relatively inexpensive lathe and tool set to get my feet wet and ran across a Ridgid 1/2 hp wood lathe on CL for $150.00. It looks to be lightly used and I will get a chance to look at it next week. Is $150 a good buy and is this a good entry level lathe to turn small bowl, pens, and small handles?

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 05-26-2011, 11:45 AM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
I would not consider the rigid lathe a good lathe. The round bed lathes have all had problems with alignment. However they aren't terrible and for $150 will get you started and you can learn quite a bit. Just be aware that somewhere down the line you will want a better lathe. On the plus side a lot of what you purchase to use that lathe, tools, grinder, sharpening jigs, chucks etc, will be useful on the next lathe so it lets you ease into the world of turning without a major expense.
post #3 of 9 Old 05-26-2011, 03:44 PM

View TonyBal's Photo Album My Photos
I agree with John. I think that this is what you looking at. It might be OK for the money, BUT I don't like the single rail mounting system. It is also mounted on what looks like MDF thats attached to thin metal legs. I can see this not lining up & vibrating due to the lack of cast iron. It probably won't matter turning pens & small stuff like that, but turning something larger with bulk might be a different story.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WL1200.jpg
Views:	18999
Size:	51.7 KB
ID:	24834