Questions from a noob...pens, lathes - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 02-09-2008, 02:37 PM Thread Starter
Kap

View Kap's Photo Album My Photos
Questions from a noob...pens, lathes

I'm new to woodworking. Got a few tools. Mostly, I've been doing display cases and getting into boxes.

I'm interested in pen making. and other woodcrafts. the economy I live in is tourist driven. I'm a landscper, and come across lots of local woods. Mostly small stuff...and mostly branch wood.

Anyway....

I'm thinking the small stuff would be good for pens, andf the tourists are always looking for something "local" to take home. I'm not looking to get rich or take advantage of anyone. I'd like to sell at reasonable prices. Not so fancy stuff at the craft fairs, and hopefully I'll get good enough to throw some stuff in the galleries here.

Is pen making difficult? What could a beginner expect to do in a couple hours and do the experienced accomplish in that amount of time?

I figured pen making would be a good start for learning lathe/turning work, and if I can get into it, I'd like to move on to bigger and better things.

What would you recommend?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 02-09-2008, 03:50 PM
Just call me Sir

View littlebuddha's Photo Album My Photos
Hi and welcome to the forum, Turner pens and anything eles can be as easy or as hard as you want. pen making its self is not hard, it is very straight forward, but you can then start to get a little more advanced with segmented stuff and all maner, have a look at this site lots of info on there for you about pen making, how to make them, jigs and all sorts related to pen making, http://www.penturners.org/forum/portal.asp

http://www.youtube.com

take a look at youtube as well as there are bound to be small vids showing pen turning.