Practice Wood - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 08-14-2010, 05:33 PM Thread Starter

View Melinda_dd's Photo Album My Photos
Practice Wood

Hi all,

I'm a total beginner and was wondering....

I need to practice, and I don't want to practice on my pen blanks or good wood.

Can I go to the local D.I.Y shop and buy some pieces of pine to practice on? it's cheap enough and I live near to the shop, but is this a good wood to practice on?

I also in the future want to make some toy soldiers but want to paint themÖ. I donít want to spend a fortune on a wood Iím going to cover with paint, so again is pine a good idea?

Thanks in advance for any responses, and to everyone who takes the time to postÖ Iím learning loads.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 08-14-2010, 07:56 PM
sawdust maker

View woody woodturner's Photo Album My Photos
pine is fine for toys but is soft to turn and a bit furry and reacts different to hard woods .I hope this answers your questions
regards woody [mark}

Old wood workers never die thay just get dry rot
post #3 of 10 Old 08-14-2010, 09:27 PM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
Practice on green limbs. They are free. They will crack when they dry so just throw them away. Since they don't cost a thing you don't worry about screwing it up while your practicing.
I frequently will run a test piece on a 2x2 pine. It's great for practicing. If you can turn those with little tearout then you can turn any good wood.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 Old 08-15-2010, 10:59 AM

View NCPaladin's Photo Album My Photos
Another possible source is small construction sites. Many have cut-off of 2X4 or 2X6 they would be glad for you to take.