Pen turning problems - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 09-13-2008, 08:09 AM Thread Starter

View don716's Photo Album My Photos
Pen turning problems

I know I'm just starting out turning pens but I cannot get this type of pen to work for me. I'm trying to turn a spalted maple blank and it keeps having chips fly away from it when I get close to being done. Then the brass tube shows through and I know it is ruined. Is there something I can do to the wood? I do have a sharp tool so that's not the problem. I've seen other pens made from spalted maple so what can I do?

Donny
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 09-13-2008, 08:43 AM

View Daren's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by don716 View Post
I'm trying to turn a spalted maple blank and it keeps having chips fly away from it when I get close to being done.
How close to being done ? 3 things. Sounds like maybe you are not getting the perfect glue job on the tube/blank, even glued right this can happen, but I would try to get the best glue up possible first. The reason I asked how close to being done, close enough to put the tools down and finish with sandpaper ? That is what I have done. Finish shaping with abrasives instead of the lathe tools. Another trick some guys use is get "close" then saturate the wood with thin CA glue, let it dry and finish turning.

Last edited by Daren; 09-13-2008 at 08:46 AM.
post #3 of 7 Old 09-13-2008, 10:55 AM Thread Starter

View don716's Photo Album My Photos
"Colse" is about 1/16 or more before I get to the bushings/spacers. I use CA glue. I'm thinking the wood might be the problem. I turned some different wood last night too and it did fine.

Donny
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 Old 09-13-2008, 11:01 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by don716 View Post
I'm thinking the wood might be the problem.