Pen finish - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 04-15-2012, 09:01 PM Thread Starter

View davidpensfan87's Photo Album My Photos
Pen finish

I am somewhat new to pen making. I currently finish my pens with seven or eight coats of friction polish and two coats of ren wax. I was wanting to know the pros and cons of CA finish and what is the best place (PSI craft supplies USA, or woodcraft) to buy it from. Also, it would seem like I would glue the blank to the bushings. Is this a common occurrence and if so, how do I not glue my bushing to the blank?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 04-15-2012, 09:21 PM
No Longer Here, BY CHOICE

View BassBlaster's Photo Album My Photos
I like a CA finish personally. Some guys dont like it and thats fine. Were all different. I have posted several videos in the past about applying CA. You'll have to search for them. They are not my videos but very imformative about CA.

Pro's to CA...

Very durable, polishes to a brilliant shine but you can stop short on your polishing if you like a satin type finish, very simple and quick to apply, I always get comments on the finish!!

Con's to CA...

Some folks will tell you it makes the wood feel like plastic. This is true, as you are applying multiple layers of acrylic to your pen but I have yet to have a customer say, this feels like plastic instead of wood. It stinks like mad!!!! Use CA in a well ventilated area and wear a respirator. If not, it will burn your nose and make your eyes water. The fumes have got to be really bad for you.

I get my CA at woodcraft but there are many sources for it. I have tried a few different brands but I like the Titebond brand medium the best for pens.