Pen Bushings, teach a noob! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 12-04-2008, 12:22 PM Thread Starter
Rocker, Geek, Woodworker

View kingswarrior777's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via AIM to kingswarrior777
Question Pen Bushings, teach a noob!

Hey everyone, this is my first post as I am new to wood working and new to the forum.

My Grandfather is getting older and he and my Grandma decided that it is time to clean out his wood shop. I am the happy recipient of a good deal of his equipment. (I used to work with him when i was younger making things for teachers at school around christmas time. good memories)

I am getting a lathe, very old. A 12" bansaw, router table, table saw, sander, planer, drill press etc. (I will take pictures when my shop is set up in the basement)

Here is what I need to know. I would like to start on the lathe with pen turning because it looks like a good way to teach myself somethings. But I am a bit confused about the bushings. Do I need to buy a new set of bushings for each different pen kit I pick up? if so that is a lot of money. Where is a good place that has bushings that can be used on many different types of pen kits?

Any advice on starting this venture back into woodworking is welcome!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 12-04-2008, 12:29 PM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
I'm not much of a pen turner. I've only used 2 styles and they take different bushing, drills and mandrels. If you go here you will find all the answers you'll ever need.
International Association of Penturners - Powered by vBulletin
post #3 of 10 Old 12-04-2008, 01:37 PM

View jwcole's Photo Album My Photos