Opinions on a few woods for turning - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By holtzdreher
  • 1 Post By Pineknot_86

post #1 of 14 Old 08-23-2017, 06:55 PM Thread Starter

View jonohoff's Photo Album My Photos
Opinions on a few woods for turning

So I have been turning a good number of pieces from 2x2 sticks of redheart from the local wood craft supply store, and I want to branch out (seriously no pun intended lol) and was hoping to get you guys' opinions on which of these turn smoothly. They are the ones from www.woodturnerscatalog.com that I really like. I would love to get opinions on how they turn compared to maple, redheart, purpleheart, and others that have a really fine, closed grain. I'm far from an expert and at this particular time I'd like to stick with turning wood that doesn't challenge me a whole lot. I don't have time right now to attend classes to better myself, and people I've been giving the bottle openers I'm making to LOVE THEM even though they are fairly simple

SO, if anyone has input on how nice the following woods are to turn, I would love to hear it.
Likewise, if anyone would like to suggest a wood that is similar in dashing appearance and is also pleasant to turn, I am very open to ideas! I work on a Delta Midi Lathe with a Nova chuck, mainly using my 70 mm jaws and working with 2x2 inch spindle blanks. I don't have a jig made yet for sharpening bowl gouges, so spindle work is all I do. I just bought a set of the 1 inch jaws. I have 1 inch, 70mm, 100mm, and 130mm

Bolivian Rosewood
Caribbean Rosewood
Cocobolo B Grade
Honduras Redheart
Goncalo Alves
African Olive Wood

Above are the primary woods that I find appealing in appearance and are also affordable for me personally.

Thank you for whatever input you guys provide!

The ones in the photos are spalted maple, purple heart, redeart, and another spalted maple
Attached Images

Last edited by jonohoff; 08-23-2017 at 06:57 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement