Opinion - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 09-18-2010, 03:29 AM Thread Starter
No Longer Here
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,839
View rrbrown's Photo Album My Photos
Opinion

I just bought a 1950's=1960's used Craftsman lath that is ok but I think I want a newer one. I think I will use the old one just for bowls if I can get it working like I want and the new one for pens and other small things.

Anyway I was looking at the Jet 12x20 3/4 hp lathe for like $600 with tax or the 10x14 1/2 hp motor for $500. I've been using the 10x14 while learning to make pens and it is really nice.

However I will have to wait a month or two to get either one and I wanted to get something now. I found this 12x16 1/2 hp Craftsman that weighs more then the jet and I can get it for $250 or a little less.It has the same features as the jet indexing etc and has a 1/2 hp motor but with the 12 swing. I looked at the manual and it has the MT-2 head and tail stock where as the old one I have is MT-1. It has 3.5 stars with 3 reviews one of which was a 1 star rating, so any opinions would be appreciated.
rrbrown is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 09-18-2010, 08:54 AM
Member
 
Old61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 40
View Old61's Photo Album My Photos
I hear this Rikon is really good:
http://www.woodcraft.com/Product/200...ini-Lathe.aspx
and it looks just like that Craftsman.
Old61 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-20-2010, 12:20 PM Thread Starter
No Longer Here
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,839
View rrbrown's Photo Album My Photos
Well Craftsman don't actually make the tools, someone makes it for them and I bet Rikon does make this one. I ordered the Craftsman regular price $399.99 on sale for $349.99 plus a $100.00 mail in rebate makes it $249.99. Online discount and associate discount, it's shipped to store free so the final cost tax and all is $209.00 so I'm happy with the price since the Rikon was more and had shipping charges.

I saved over 50% either way. I should have it by the weekend and I will post a review for it shortly there after.
rrbrown is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 09-20-2010, 04:47 PM
Senior Member
 
don716's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Georgia (USA)
Posts: 623
View don716's Photo Album My Photos
It sounds like you got one heck of a deal for the price. Please post a picture when you get it set up.
Donny
don716 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-20-2010, 09:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Itchy Brother's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Looneyville,California
Posts: 2,357
View Itchy Brother's Photo Album My Photos
I have the Jet,12x20,index pin,non vs.Got it for $425.00 @ Woodcraft.Got it for $25 off for some upcoming sale.Ive seen a little used one just like mine on C/L $350.00.Deals can be found.

***For the record*** Ive made hundreds of guitar bodies,never put one together and cant play a note.
Itchy Brother is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opinion woodman42 Off Topic 26 12-13-2007 06:24 PM
Your Opinion bird dog Woodturning 15 09-07-2007 04:03 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome