Old Sears Lathe Help? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 14 Old 01-11-2008, 09:08 PM Thread Starter

View SRogers93's Photo Album My Photos
Old Sears Lathe Help?

A friend of mine gave me this old Sears and Roebuck lathe. I am new to woodturning and the price was right but I can't seem to figure out if there are any modern accessories that will fit it or if I can do what I want with it. I was hoping to turn some pens but as you can see in the pictures the spindle is not hollow to use what is needed for that type of project. Dose anyone know of any solutions to this, and if there are any attachments that might work for this lathe? I have searched the model #14923871 and come up with nothing. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 01-11-2008, 10:35 PM

View Gordon Seto's Photo Album My Photos
Not familiar with that lathe; I won't put too much into this for accessories. Can't see clearly on the tailstock. The tailstock center needs to have a bearing.
Check the alignment on the lathe first. Then chuck up a piece of wood and apply tailstock pressure and see whether the headstock and tubes flex. If it doesn't pass these tests; you will be disappointed in doing pens. If you can't get good alignment, the brass tubes in pens would be off-centered. You can still use it to turn spindles on both centers, but not with something fixed at one end like a pen mandrel.

The spindle size is probably 3/4" x 16 TPI. If you are going to get a lathe, I would suggest you get 1" X 8 or 1ľ" X 8, and Morse Taper #2. Avoid those odd sizes.

Gordon
post #3 of 14 Old 01-12-2008, 12:24 AM Thread Starter