newbie lathe recommendations - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 11-23-2008, 12:17 AM Thread Starter

View thekctermite's Photo Album My Photos
newbie lathe recommendations

I've been a woodworker for years but am getting interested in dabbling in turning. Nothing big for now, just knobs, bun feet, chess pieces, candlesticks, etc. I'll probably get a lathe after Christmas.

I'm thinking that I want to get a smaller lathe, but don't really know what to look for in a smaller lathe. I can't afford a full size, and really can't justify having one even if I could afford it. My local Woodcraft has Steel City, Jet, and Rikon mini-lathes. I'm also within a reasonable drive of Grizzly. I've had my eye on the Steel City variable speed model...Good? Bad?

Aside from some turning tools, what accessories should I plan on buying for this lathe? I see all sorts of chucks and jaws, and plates that you screw to the workpiece, but don't know when the live center is appropriate and when you have to use a chuck, etc.

Any tips or recommendations would sure help me out.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 11-23-2008, 02:12 AM
No Longer Here

View user4178's Photo Album My Photos
I think the JET variable speed is pretty popular.
post #3 of 7 Old 11-23-2008, 09:42 AM
Just makin chips fly

View The woodsman's Photo Album My Photos
lathe recommendations