Newbie hollowing tool question - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 04-18-2012, 11:41 PM Thread Starter

View Ben M's Photo Album My Photos
Newbie hollowing tool question

Hi all,

New woodturner here---"self taught", meaning I've learned mostly from YouTube and forum-goers like yourselves, and probably doing many things wrong.

Question: I picked up an inexpensive Grizzly hollowing tool (T23333, http://www.grizzly.com/products/Lath...-Chisel/T23333 ) and I'm completely baffled as to how to use it. As soon as I make contact with the wood, it starts chattering. The least-chattery thing I can do is to bring the cutter against the wood at an extreme scraping angle---and that takes all of my wrist-strength to prevent the tool from rotating. And it still chatters.

Any advice? I'd love to find a video, or better yet a diagram, showing the right relationship between the cutting tip, bevel, and wood. Of course, if my cheapskate-tool-purchase is to blame, better to know sooner rather than later.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 04-19-2012, 05:39 AM

View Bonanza35's Photo Album My Photos
I have no experience with that tool but it appears to be a scraper so presenting it 90 degrees to the wood should be correct. One thing that's really important with swan neck type tools is to keep the tool rest back far enough that it is supporting the straight part of the shaft, not the bent portion. That should reduce is tendency to torque in your hand. The shaft should be horizontal and at center height. You can err on the side of having the handle very slightly raised but don't lower the handle.
Some more details or pics of exactly what you are working on and where you are having trouble might help you get some better advice from some some smarter folks.
Hope that helps.
post #3 of 4 Old 04-19-2012, 07:59 AM

View duncsuss's Photo Album My Photos
What part of the inside of a hollow vessel are you trying to use it on?