Newbie - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 05-03-2008, 07:25 PM Thread Starter

View snallard's Photo Album My Photos

First time on this forum. I joined as I'm new to turning and I'm having a problem trying to turn bowls. I know I have a cheep entry level lathe, but when I work on the outside of the bowl everything seems fine, but when I start to work on the inside I end up with walls that are inconsistent in thickness. How is that possible when something is spinning, and is there anything that can be done to correct this?

Thanks in advance for any and all help. I'm using maple and getting frustrated at the expense.

Steve
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 05-04-2008, 05:29 AM
Just call me Sir

View littlebuddha's Photo Album My Photos
Hi Steve leave the wall alone or your head is going to hurt Okay cheap lathe or not, nothing wrong with a cheap lathe lots can be done on it, its how you use it. Have big expencive lathes are fine if you have the money to throw at it, it does not make you any better by just having a good quality lathe.
That said how are you mounting the bowl, if its in a scroll chuck of some sort, maybe you had a catch when trying to turn the inside this then may have ofset the bowl giving you diff thickness around the bowl, or maybe you had taken the bowl off for some reason then remounted, the problem doing that is that you might have remounted in a different place to where it was again off setting it. when you tighten a chuck up on wood it bits in and leaves indents the best bet is to mark your turning where you chuck it, genrally the jaws have Numbers against them, mark the postion on the wood then re chuck anytime in the same place it will help. I would say if you are really new to turning that you court the wood with the gouge and that it has moved in the chuck. Welcome to the empty forum everyone has gone on holliday hope that helps LB
post #3 of 7 Old 05-04-2008, 09:49 AM
Woodaholic