Newbe Question "WHAT Lathe" - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 12 Old 12-30-2007, 11:07 AM Thread Starter

View TonyR's Photo Album My Photos
Newbe Question "WHAT Lathe"

Hi all, I've been woodworking for a few years and want to try my hand at woodturning, bowls and goblets, for the most part. My question is what lathe, would like to keep it under $500. have been looking at the Grizzly G0584. Has anyone used this lathe befor?????
Thanks for the help
TonyR
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 12-30-2007, 12:53 PM

View Nancy Laird's Photo Album My Photos
Tony, if you are wanting to "try" your hand at turning, you might want to start with a mini-lathe for more than one reason: 1. to see if you like it; 2. to see if you're any good at it; 3. to keep the initial cost down; and 4. you can turn lots of things on a mini--don't need a "big boy" to turn some pretty large pieces, up to 10" diameter. I strongly suggest the Steel City variable-speed mini-lathe, currently at $400.00 at WWS. If you want to go longer than 15", the bed extension is also available for $83.00.

BUT, be warned, the lathe purchase, whatever you buy, is just the start of your descent into the abyss--you'll need turning tools and chisels, you'll need a good chuck, you'll need a smock and a face shield (preferably an air shield), you'll need turning blanks, sandpaper, finishing supplies. And don't forget that you'll need a good digital camera for taking pictures of the beauties you produce off the lathe and a good light-box set-up to put the pieces in for the pictures. If you want to do pens, you'll need pen kits and pen kits and pen kits and more pen kits, pen mandrels, multiple types of blanks, multiple types of finishes. If you go with bottle stoppers, you'll need blanks, mandrels, kits, finishes. If you buy the lathe, the vortex has gotten you!!!:icon_chee sygrin: