New to turning - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 17 Old 07-08-2010, 12:52 AM Thread Starter

View Zykal's Photo Album My Photos
New to turning

Hello , I am new to turning I just got a rockwell 46-111 and a set of craftsman (12 pieces) set of HSS tools. Looks to be 3 different size gouges , and 2 Skews, and a few others that I'll have to figure on what they are.

I have spare red oak and pine lying around that I turned a few things out of, mostly just handles for tools. I figured its cheaper to learn on junk wood. Although I do have some Purple Heart, Rock Maple, Cherry, and Mahogany pieces that I could cut for turning.

I was wonder what some of the better places were to get wood from (online or in or around PHX AZ)

I'm thinking I may pick up a Pen kit so I can turn some pens. Any idea which kit would work for me?

I've already read about the first 35 pages of posts on this forum.

I've also been reading from this page too http://www.nealaddy.org/node/9

Thank you
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 07-08-2010, 08:07 AM

View Dvoigt's Photo Album My Photos
It is always good to start out on junk wood.

Pens are a good intro into turning, you don't need alot of tools and they don't take up alot of wood, you can usually pick up pen blanks for about $1 ea, sometimes cheaper. Penn State Industries is a good place to start http://www.pennstateind.com/, there are a few other big ones, but I won't overwhelm you.

I find bowls to be the most fun though. You'll soon get sucked into the trap that is turning.

See what we offer at HandmadeWoodGifts and become a fan of our Facebook page
post #3 of 17 Old 07-08-2010, 09:11 AM

View thekctermite's Photo Album My Photos