New Tool - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 17 Old 11-23-2008, 07:12 PM Thread Starter

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
New Tool

I made a new tool today. I wanted to see how the Hunter cutter would work on a longer, bigger bar. This is 14" long 3/4" in diameter. I put a 1/2" Hunter cutter on the end. I'm still new to using this tool but it's going to be fun.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Big-Hunter-tool.jpg
Views:	588
Size:	18.0 KB
ID:	5630  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 11-23-2008, 09:24 PM

View firehawkmph's Photo Album My Photos
John,
sound good. Is there enough clearance just below the cutter head to do a shear cut with it? Hard to tell in the photo but it looks like the shaft is as big as the cutter. Did you try it yet?
Mike Hawkins
post #3 of 17 Old 11-23-2008, 09:56 PM Thread Starter

The shaft is as big as the cutter. It acts as a bevel. I'm going to round the bottom a little more to make the "bevel" a little shorter so I can reach into more rounded areas. This is just a larger version of the Hunter #4 turning tool that Mike Hunter sells. It has a 1/2" bar with 1/2" cutter. It works well down to about 8" deep but I wanted something longer. Mike also makes a #5 tool which is a 5/8" shaft with 1/2" cutter. I'm just going a step further. It's actually a modification of the tool Mike just sent me to try out. It was OK but I thought it would be better if the cutter was lower, more toward the center of the tool so I made this one to try out my idea. I think it is better. Maybe in the near future it might be on the market.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 17 Old 11-23-2008, 11:57 PM

View Mitch Cholewinski's Photo Album My Photos
John Lucas