Need More Advice - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 15 Old 03-25-2011, 06:38 PM Thread Starter
djg
Senior Something

View djg's Photo Album My Photos
Need More Advice

I'm having better luck with my practice piece of cherry that I was fretting about awhile ago.
http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/f6/qu...strated-24557/

I raised the tool rest and then watched the tool tip more closely. Roughed out the straight sides with a slight flare and then started to rough out the middle. When I started the inside, I still used the right side of the gouge by leaning over the lathe and then running the tool outside to the middle. Hope you know what I'm trying to say. Going well, but the deeper I get (approx. 3") I'm having trouble thinning down the walls. At this point do you use the LEFT side of the gouge? Feels a little funning, but since I'm just learning, maybe that's the way it's done.
Also, I'm having trouble getting the inside corner square using the Right side and point of the gouge. I'm afraid if I press too hard, I might get a catch. Is this done with another tool. I have a square nose BOWL Scraper that I could see how it might work. But I first would like to get use to using a gouge if that's the way it should be done. I have pictures if any of this is unclear.
Thanks

Last edited by djg; 03-25-2011 at 06:51 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 03-25-2011, 07:42 PM
This Space For Rent

View slatron25's Photo Album My Photos
Yes pics. I do use the left side of the nose of the gouge sometimes it's a little tricky (lots of catches early on). Show us pics though, it would help.

Tim
post #3 of 15 Old 03-25-2011, 07:45 PM Thread Starter
djg
Senior Something

Here's kind of what I'm talking about.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	007.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	98.5 KB
ID:	22734  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 15 Old 03-25-2011, 08:02 PM

View sawdustfactory's Photo Album My Photos