Need Live Center for older Craftsman lathe - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 01-28-2010, 12:15 AM Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
View denlford's Photo Album My Photos
Need Live Center for older Craftsman lathe

I bought an older model Craftsman lathe recently. The dead center is missing fron the tail. It is an approx 1/2" threaded shaft that the center screws onto. Does anyone know where I can find a Live Center to fit this machine?

Thanks,

denlford
denlford is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 01-28-2010, 09:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Baxter, Tennessee
Posts: 3,257
View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
I may be wrong but I think the old craftsman lathes took a #1 morse taper. If it's 1/2" at the large size of the hole it's #1. If it's closer to 3/4" it a #2. You can get #1 morse taper live centers from www.pennstateind.com They probably have the #2 morse tapers as well. If you just need a dead center with a 60 degree point you can buy those from machine shops.
john lucas is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 01-28-2010, 06:05 PM Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
View denlford's Photo Album My Photos
Thanks

Thanks for the information. I'll go out and measure the size and see if the comapny has what I need

denlford
denlford is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 01-28-2010, 08:01 PM
Senior Member
 
AZ Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Globe, AZ
Posts: 680
View AZ Termite's Photo Album My Photos
You may also try http://www.searspartsdirect.com All you have to do is enter the model and serial number and it will bring up a parts list. If your lathe is like my old craftsman a regular live center will not work.

Assumption is the mother of all foul -ups
AZ Termite is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 01-29-2010, 10:47 AM
Senior Member
 
TS3660's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ft. Mill, SC
Posts: 1,461
View TS3660's Photo Album My Photos
Is it a wood lathe or a metal lathe? I have a metal lathe I rebuilt. It has a #1mt in the tailstock and a #2 in the headstock. I bought both live and dead centers from Grizzly.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	033.jpg
Views:	16399
Size:	86.1 KB
ID:	13181  

Click image for larger version

Name:	036.jpg
Views:	1102
Size:	85.1 KB
ID:	13182  

Click image for larger version

Name:	042.jpg
Views:	8789
Size:	109.3 KB
ID:	13183  


Bud

"Veggie burgers aren't bad if you put enough meat on them"
TS3660 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 01-30-2010, 11:04 PM Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
View denlford's Photo Album My Photos
It is a wood lathe. I live in the Little Rock, Arkansas area and was in Springfield, MO a couple of weeks ago. I went to the Grizzly store there, but they did not have a live center that would fit. I will try to post some pics of the tail stock. Thanks for your reply.

denlford
denlford is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 01-30-2010, 11:20 PM Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
View denlford's Photo Album My Photos
Thanks for your reply. I have checked with Sear's, but they don't have parts for this model of lathe.

denlford
denlford is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 01-31-2010, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
AZ Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Globe, AZ
Posts: 680
View AZ Termite's Photo Album My Photos
Did you look at the link I had. It is different than your local store. If you only checked a store you will want to look at the web site I linked.

Assumption is the mother of all foul -ups
AZ Termite is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 02-01-2010, 10:10 PM
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
View musky's Photo Album My Photos
My grandfather gave me an old craftsman lathe years ago. It had a motor that was separate from the lathe and mounted behind the lathe to attach the pulley to. It did not have a bed like most lathes now have, it had poles that the tail stock slid on. I lost the live center while moving and had the same problems you are having finding a new one. I upgraded to a harbor freight mini and then to a Delta Midi, but as far as i remember, the live center was straight shaft or almost straight. It did not seem to have the taper like the ones I use now. It was about two inches long or so with a point on it. With mine, I had to use oil where the live center spun in the tail stock. I don't know if you could have one made at a machine shop or not. I wish I knew where mine was, I would be happy to send it to you, since that lathe hasn't been used in probably 10 years or so. Good luck.
musky is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 02-02-2010, 09:10 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 17
View jeff967's Photo Album My Photos
the old "109" craftsman had #0 morse tapers
jeff967 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adapting Older Craftsman TS to new Fence Sleeper Power Tools & Machinery 0 06-07-2009 11:56 AM
Can't get Live Center Out CivilEngineer13 Woodturning 7 05-12-2009 09:46 AM
Threaded live center vxir Woodturning 0 12-07-2008 01:16 PM
Live center is dead Hexhead Woodturning 7 09-06-2008 09:28 AM
Need Live Centers for Old Craftsman jlc791 Woodturning 6 08-07-2008 07:14 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome