Mini lathe purchase - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 03-29-2011, 01:01 PM Thread Starter

View Hoyett's Photo Album My Photos
Mini lathe purchase

Hello, I just purchased a mini Jet lathe and now need to look into purchasing sole chisels and a decent chuck. I am a beginner and have not turned anything as of yet. I have only learned that while sanding on the lathe it gets very hot very quickly.

Is there a set of tools and 4 jaw chuck that i can grow into while learning? Money is kind of tight so please any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Hoyett
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 03-29-2011, 01:23 PM

View davesplane's Photo Album My Photos
hello hoyett
you can grab a cheap set of tools at harbor freight for about 35.00.
woodcraft has a 4 jaw chuck from woodriver for about 85.00.
this should get you into a little trouble!
post #3 of 10 Old 03-29-2011, 05:05 PM

View don716's Photo Album My Photos
Hoyett, Most of the time you will not use an entire set of tools. I would suggest buying a good one as you can afford it. First off, what kind of things are you wanting to turn? That will play a big part on the tools you will need. Fill us in and we can give you some good suggestions from there.
Donny
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 Old 03-29-2011, 05:50 PM

View Glidden's Photo Album My Photos
For a chuck recommendation I like the NOVA midi chuck I bought, can use any of the NOVA jaws and is a nice solid accessory.

I agree that buying a set of tools generally means you only use a few out of the set, so depending on what kind of turning you are planning on buy tools as you need them and you will find that you have a much more useful set of tools.

For spindle work I would recommend starting with a 3/4" roughing gouge, 3/8" spindle gouge, and a 1/2" skew. A parting tool is necessary or at least handy in a lot of projects as well.