Material list for pen turning - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 26 Old 02-24-2012, 12:59 PM Thread Starter
Erik

View Viorato831's Photo Album My Photos
Material list for pen turning

What materials do I need to make a pen(bushings clips)? Also what do people mean by acrylics? Im New to this stuff so please forgive my ignorance:) I have order my lathe, chisels, grinder, mandrel, and next month I'll be ordering a pen press. As for wood staining and finishing I don't know what you guys use I hear some apply wax or even CA glue. Can someone please explain to me all the finishing process ? From sanding to applying wax or whatever. Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 02-24-2012, 01:11 PM

View sawdustfactory's Photo Album My Photos
Your best bet at this point is to watch a few youtube videos of pen turning. That will answer a lot of your questions.

That bowl was perfect right up until that last cut...
post #3 of 26 Old 02-24-2012, 01:22 PM
No Longer Here

View rrbrown's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viorato831 View Post
What materials do I need to make a pen(bushings clips)? Also what do people mean by acrylics? Im New to this stuff so please forgive my ignorance:) I have order my lathe, chisels, grinder, mandrel, and next month I'll be ordering a pen press. As for wood staining and finishing I don't know what you guys use I hear some apply wax or even CA glue. Can someone please explain to me all the finishing process ? From sanding to applying wax or whatever. Thanks in advance.

If I were you. I would start off with this 8pc 7mm pen sampler set or something like it. It has what you need to get started.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 26 Old 02-24-2012, 01:24 PM
No Longer Here

Quote:
Originally Posted by sawdustfactory View Post
Your best bet at this point is to watch a few youtube videos of pen turning. That will answer a lot of your questions.