Live center is dead - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 08-31-2008, 07:48 PM Thread Starter

View Hexhead's Photo Album My Photos
Live center is dead

My friend bought a lathe and the bearing in the live center is rough. He brought it over for me to get the bearing out and I got a shock, I can't seem to find away to do it. The Lathe is just like a jet with a turning head stock var speed but it's a Harbor freight knock off.

I just cant see anyway to get it apart. Any Ideas?

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 08-31-2008, 08:22 PM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
Without having it in my hand I can't tell you for sure. Usually they have to be pressed apart. You may be able to get something on the outside portion and then press the inside until it comes apart.
post #3 of 8 Old 08-31-2008, 08:49 PM Thread Starter

Thanks for the quick reply. I'm a wanta be machinist so I look at every angle before I ask for help. It's #2 taper a hole (same size goes all way thought. If you take out the point (held in by a small allen screw) you can see there is no lip on the #2 taper to press on. I has to be drove out from the front to the back as you would look at it install in the tail stock. but with no lip and a straight hole I am stumped. Making it in the first place is a no brainer just press the bearing and taper shaft into the head, It's taking it back out that's a brainer. If you have one take a look at it , it may the same kind.

Thanks again
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 Old 09-02-2008, 08:45 PM