Lines in Pen finish? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 24 Old 07-01-2011, 09:20 AM Thread Starter

View Mose's Photo Album My Photos
Lines in Pen finish?

I'm a complete novice in turning and have only done a handful of pens with my neighbor, who is also a novice, on his lathe.

We turn the pens down with a small gouge and expiremented last night with a skew a little, but even before using the skew we got lines in the pen. Upon close examination I can tell there are some sanding lines that need to be addressed but I know how to get rid of those on the next one.

The lines I'm talking about are evenly spaced and are barely noticed. With more coats of CA I can see them easier, sand them down, start again, get what I think is a good finish, not quite glass yet but we're learning. But then in just the right light at the right angle I can see the lines, they are perpendicular to the grain.

We have been sanding 320, 420, 600, Micromesh, CA, micromesh, CA, buff. I know this could use improvement from what I've read. Sometimes I toss in a little 00 steel wool. I do my final sanding with the grain before wipping clean before the CA.

My thoughts are that the paper towel is leaving a trail as I drag it accross the blank when applying CA. I don't remember this happening on the first couple pens I did at the local shop. Can the speed of the lathe make a difference here? It's a Shopsmith so I can't tell you the RPM, it's usually up at the saw/jointer setting.

I'm not selling them, and the people I'm giving them too would never notice, but I do pretty easily. We are so often our biggest critics. Overall I'm happy with them as my "first generation" sort of speak, but know it shouldn't be that hard to get to the next step of no lines.

Any tips? Sorry no pictures, I can't get them to show up with the camera that close. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 07-01-2011, 09:39 AM

View Bob Willing's Photo Album My Photos