Lathe Sanding - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 08-26-2009, 06:06 PM Thread Starter
HALL OF FAMER

View Kenbo's Photo Album My Photos
Lathe Sanding

Hey guys!!!
As most of you know, I'm fairly new to the turning world and have been enjoying adding it to my many wood working skills. (when it comes to lathe work, I am using the word "skill" very loosely)
Lately, there has been mention, in a couple of threads about the rpm used when sanding a project on the lathe. I have to admit that I don't know what is the best way to sand on the lathe. There has been talk about lower rpms when sanding. Can you guys explain the pros and cons of sanding at different speeds? Are there times when a higher rpm is preferrable over a lower one? Are there applications where only a high rpm should be used or only a lower rpm should be used?
This thread is more of a curiosity thing in a quest to better my "skill" at turning through knowledge as well as practice.
Ken

There is a very fine line between a "hobby" and a "mental illness"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 08-26-2009, 07:37 PM
Just makin chips fly

View The woodsman's Photo Album My Photos
Lathe sanding