lathe faceplate - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 11-04-2009, 08:40 PM Thread Starter

View birdcarver's Photo Album My Photos
lathe faceplate

I am very new to woodturning and I was wondering what type of screws do you guys use in fastening wood to a faceplate? I would think hatdened steel for sure. but what length and phillips head, square head or some other. I know this is kind of a dumb question i guess but I dont want to be wearing a chunk of wood in my forehead!!
thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 11-04-2009, 08:55 PM

View firehawkmph's Photo Album My Photos
BC,
Not a dumb question at all. I use outdoor deck screws. Don't use drywall screws, too brittle. I predrill holes in the wood and fasten with the screws. They are philips drive. The size of the blank determines how many screws I use. The depth is dependent somewhat on the depth of your blank. Most often I am using 1 5/8" long screws.
Mike Hawkins
post #3 of 11 Old 11-04-2009, 09:02 PM Thread Starter

thanks Mike for the quick reply. I never thought of deck screws, I got some on hand
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 Old 11-04-2009, 09:06 PM
Just makin chips fly

View The woodsman's Photo Album My Photos
Lathe faceplate

That is really a very smart question to ask,as you don't want to have a blank breaking loose,due to cheap screws.I use masonry screws for the most part with the hex head.I have very little problems with them stripping out like the phillips head did with me.Like Mike,I predrill in hardwoods,but not in soft woods.Good luck and be safe and if you have any questions,there are a lot of good folks here that will try and help you out.

PS whats do they call ya?

God Bless all
Ken Ward

Last edited by The woodsman; 11-04-2009 at 09:09 PM.
post #5 of 11 Old 11-04-2009, 11:53 PM

View Lilty's Photo Album My Photos
I use the combo square philips from Mcfeely.

Lilty
post #6 of 11 Old 11-05-2009, 05:15 AM
4Woodturning