Lathe discussion - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 02-20-2011, 03:45 PM Thread Starter
Splinter Cushion

View b00kemdano's Photo Album My Photos
Lathe discussion

I'd like to know what kind of lathes you guys have, why you chose that lathe, and what do you like to turn on it. Also, if you could throw in some pros and cons of the lathe that you have, that'd be nice, too.

I'm interested in buying a better lathe, but there are so many options, I don't know where to start. If we can get a lot of info in one thread, maybe it'll help folks like me who are trying to decide which lathe to buy in the future.

I'll go first! I have a Grizzly G0462. I picked it because it was on special and I got it, a set of starter tools, and delivery for under $500. I'm still relatively new to turning, so I like to experiment with a variety of turnings. I've done pens, tops, bottle stoppers, candlesticks, small lidded jars / bowls, and a variety of bowls up to 11" diameter.

I enjoy the larger bowls, but this lathe can't seem to handle it without a lot of vibration.

Pros - Cheap, 2hp motor, long bed, variable speed
Cons - Susceptible to vibration, lowest speed setting not good for larger pieces, tool rest is kinda crappy
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 02-20-2011, 03:55 PM

View sawdustfactory's Photo Album My Photos
I have a general international maxi-lathe (mid sized) that I use for bottle stoppers, pens, cork screws, etc...most of the small stuff.

I also have a Jet 1642EVS that I do bowls, peppermills, platters, vases, etc.