Lathe Buying Advice - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 12-05-2008, 09:42 PM Thread Starter

View jporter5333's Photo Album My Photos
Question Lathe Buying Advice

I was wondering if anyone could tell me what they think of a lathe that I have found. It is a Central Machinery 12"x36" with a reversible head, 600 - 2400 rpm, 3/4 horse motor, and a basic 8 leice wood chisel set. They are asking $200 for all this. I am new to woodturning and this will be my first lathe purchase. I just wondered if anyone can tell me if this is a good deal. the posting says slightly used. Judging from the pics this lathe is not very old at all. i appreciate any feedback.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 12-05-2008, 10:15 PM
Just makin chips fly

View The woodsman's Photo Album My Photos
lathe advice

Do not walk,but run from it as it is a piece of crap.I bought one two yrs ago and had to return it four times,plus once they sent me a replacement motor and it lasted two weeks.I finally just returned it to harbor freight and bought a Nova 1624 and havn't looked back.When I took the last one back,the man at harbor freight showed me a bunch of them laying in the warehouse waiting to be returned to the warehouse.
Ken
post #3 of 7 Old 12-07-2008, 12:47 AM
Sydney, Australia

View hughie's Photo Album My Photos
advise

Hi JP,

I am not real familar with the lathe in question. But I can offer some general advise on lathe buying.

First of all you need to have a clear idea of what you would like to turn.
Bowls, spindles or pens etc Because this will push in the direction of type and size. There is not unfortunately a lathe suited to do all three. Most lathes can do all three, but not as well as one designed for the specific purpose.
Then comes the budget, now it gets tricky matching this with your desires