jet 1642 wiring hookup - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 02-07-2012, 11:31 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester Ctr. VT
Posts: 359
View tymann09's Photo Album My Photos
jet 1642 wiring hookup

hey guys. i just picked up a jet 1642, 2hp. right now it's wired for 220. the guy said that it needed to be 220 and you wern't able to rewire it for 110. is this correct? It's fine to leave it at 220, i was just hoping to be able to switch it to 110 because i live in an apartment and it's not that easy to get a 220 outlet put in. thoughts?

-Tyler
www.TJGwoodworking.com

GOT WOOD?
tymann09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 02-07-2012, 11:42 AM
I run with chisels.
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: AZ
Posts: 913
View joesbucketorust's Photo Album My Photos
According to the specs it's a 220V motor, not a 110/220. Does your apartment have a hookup for a washer/dryer? If not, any chance your stove is electric?

Insert witty signature line here.
joesbucketorust is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 02-07-2012, 11:54 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester Ctr. VT
Posts: 359
View tymann09's Photo Album My Photos
my apartment has a basement (which is where i was hoping to set up) and there is indeed a washer and dryer down there. I know the dryer runs on 220 but i thought the plugs were different? would i be able to rewire the plug on the lathe to go where the dryer hookup is?

-Tyler
www.TJGwoodworking.com

GOT WOOD?
tymann09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 02-07-2012, 12:01 PM
I run with chisels.
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: AZ
Posts: 913
View joesbucketorust's Photo Album My Photos
I'm thinking yes. I know there are different type outlets for dryers, that's why when you buy one new you usually buy the cord separately and install it. If you look at the outlet in the wall, and then go to the store, you should be able to find a cord to match.
Usually I'd say "and then just throw it on the tool and go" but in this case there are so many configurations that I'd say call an electrician - you should be able to find a retired one on craigslist willing to do it for real cheap. He can come out with a multimeter and figure out which leads go where fairly quickly. And since he's not pulling any wires he shouldn't charge an arm/leg.

Insert witty signature line here.
joesbucketorust is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to joesbucketorust For This Useful Post:
tymann09 (02-08-2012)
post #5 of 7 Old 02-08-2012, 10:34 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester Ctr. VT
Posts: 359
View tymann09's Photo Album My Photos
here's what i ended up doing. i talked to a friend of mine who's contractor and asked him what the best thing to do was. I made an adapter cord rather than modifying the lathe. i went to HD and bought a replacement dryer cord, cut of the clips, bought a female plug for the lathe end, plopped it on, and voila, i have an adapter which is also a very handy 6 foot extension cord. thanks for the help!

-Tyler
www.TJGwoodworking.com

GOT WOOD?
tymann09 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 02-09-2012, 12:07 AM
Senior Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 5,023
View firehawkmph's Photo Album My Photos
Tymann,
Jet makes another version of the 1642 with a 1 1/2hp motor which can run on either 110/220. As long as you have your adapter cord, sounds like you should be fine.
Mike Hawkins
firehawkmph is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 02-09-2012, 12:12 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester Ctr. VT
Posts: 359
View tymann09's Photo Album My Photos
thanks mike, that must have been the one that i was thinking about when i thought you could switch between 110/220. i'm kind of proud of my adapter cord

-Tyler
www.TJGwoodworking.com

GOT WOOD?
tymann09 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delta 36-670 (aka 36-649) motor wiring Q johnnyb Power Tools & Machinery 19 07-14-2015 08:42 AM
found a jet 1642 used for $1900, deal or no? tymann09 Woodturning 14 02-09-2012 03:21 AM
Wiring djg Power Tools & Machinery 4 05-11-2010 10:33 AM
switch wiring orcaburger44 Shop Safety 7 04-15-2010 10:32 PM
Jet 1642 setup jdixon Woodturning 7 06-06-2009 07:06 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome