I wanna turn pens/pencils - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 12 Old 02-20-2012, 09:34 PM Thread Starter

View Hobgood's Photo Album My Photos
I wanna turn pens/pencils

Ok I'm I total newbie to the lathe but a quick learner! Im really interested in making some pens, what would an ideal shopping list be for the necessary tools / accessories?

Thanks in advanced!

Kevin
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 02-20-2012, 09:58 PM

View kbikoff's Photo Album My Photos
Kevin,
I just started about a month ago, so I have recently been in your shoes. Here is what I've put together in my short time.

Beyond the lathe, which I assume you already have, I would go with a starter pen kit like they have at Rockler here:

http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?page=17820

It's roughly $65, but when I started adding everything up in my basket separately, this option made the most sense. Depending on the lathe, be sure to get the right pen mandrel. The one that comes with the set I linked is an MT2, and I needed an MT1.

You need the tools, mostly the roughing gouge. I bought this set, which is on sale at Rockler (I don't work for them, I simply go there a lot):

http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?page=30756

These tools have been all I've needed for my turning so far. It's a good starter set without a big initial cash outlay.

Get a set of sanding pads like these, which is the key to getting your pens as smooth as possible:

http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?page=30924&rrt=1

If you don't want to spend the money on a pen press, you can use a mini-clamp to press the parts together. You also don't have to spend money on a pen blank drilling vise. You can make one yourself out of two pieces of 2X4 and a door hinge, and it works just as good. If you would like, I can tell you how to make one that is just as effective as a store-bought tool.