I need a bigger lathe... - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 04-25-2010, 11:24 AM Thread Starter

View Dvoigt's Photo Album My Photos
I need a bigger lathe...

So this isn't more of a question, but just a rant...

I've been working with my midi lathe for about 2 years. It works great for pens and does the job for small bowls and other items. But I hate that I can only go about 9 inches in Dia... and if I have a 6" bowl blank that is slightly out of round it makes the whole lathe shake. The 1/2HP motor is underpowered so that i can't take a full cut with the bowl gouge, even on green wood. So it probably takes me 4x longer to rough a bowl then it should.

What I really want is a VS lathe with a 16" swing... or even bigger for the few times in my life that I want to make a ridiculously sized 20" bowl... If anyone is looking to get ride of a giant lathe... let me know! I'll even clear out some of my lumber to make room for it in the garage!

The end

See what we offer at HandmadeWoodGifts and become a fan of our Facebook page
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 04-25-2010, 12:50 PM

View firehawkmph's Photo Album My Photos
DV,
I went throught the same thing. I started with a jet 10" midi. I had the bed extension on it so I was able to turn some longer projects. I ended up buying a jet 1642. I lucked out a couple of years ago when rocklers ran them on sale one weekend for 1295.00 + 100 rebate, so it ended up costing me 1195. I think now they are around 1800. You might keep an eye out for a used one. It has a 1 1/2 hp motor, variable speed and works very well. Good luck,
Mike Hawkins
post #3 of 9 Old 04-25-2010, 02:28 PM

View JohnK007's Photo Album My Photos
DV,