how to sharpen lathe tools? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 15 Old 12-07-2010, 02:49 PM Thread Starter
gus
journeyman carpenter

View gus's Photo Album My Photos
how to sharpen lathe tools?

i am fairly new to turning and have little experience sharpening my tools. i want to learn to sharpen using my 8" delta grinder if i can. surely someone here has covered this. i just have not found the comprehensive thread i am looking for. can someone please help me with a link? or some advice? thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 12-07-2010, 03:17 PM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
There are some good videos on Youtube on sharpening. The best is a DVD sold by the American Association of Woodturners. It has 3 turners show their methods of sharpening so You get 3 different points of view all of which work. This lets you choose the method that works for you.
http://www.woodturner.org/shop/Produ...em.asp?PID=108
I use an 8" slow speed grinder with the Oneway sharpening system and the Wolverine bowl gouge jig. It is very effective. I learned to sharpen by hand and still do on some tools but the Oneway system lets me repeat a grind exactly with almost no material removed.
The Following User Says Thank You to john lucas For This Useful Post:
gus (12-07-2010)
post #3 of 15 Old 12-07-2010, 08:52 PM

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 15 Old 12-08-2010, 08:53 AM Thread Starter
gus
journeyman carpenter

that looks too easy. so what kind of wheel do you recommend? and what speed is ideal? my grinder is variable.
post #5 of 15 Old 12-08-2010, 10:25 AM

White, Pink or Blue aluminum oxide wheels work great. I think J hardness is recommended. The don't heat up the tools as bad as the gray wheels.