how do I get rid of it? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 02-21-2009, 03:24 AM Thread Starter

View Wonderwood's Photo Album My Photos
how do I get rid of it?

This is something called a DIS...its used for pulling fiber through the holes, to get it ready to be spun into yarn. ( so the wife says).
Its only about the size of a quarter...and its concaved...just think of a very small bowl..
This was the very first thing I ever turned on my new lathe, I am still learning...and what I need to learn at this very moment is how do I get rid of that small dipple in the middle? I only had a small skew to work with, and a very small ( made for pen turning ) gouge.
any help would be great!

Thanks much..I love this site
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 02-21-2009, 06:07 AM
Woodworking Firefighter

View firefighteremt153's Photo Album My Photos
I always use a round nose scraper to get rid of the center dimple on the insides of a bowl. I wouldn't suggest starting off turning with a scew, they can be very dangerous if not used properly, and very frusterating as well. If you're leaning towards turning bowls and the like, then I would suggest getting a bowl gouge, roughing gouge, and maybe a round nose scraper. Im sure you'll get some better advise from some of the veteran turners.

........................www.Jeremydillardwoodworking.com.........................

"Only those who risk going too far, can possibly know how far they can go"
post #3 of 9 Old 02-21-2009, 08:39 AM

View firehawkmph's Photo Album My Photos
WW,