How did you learn to turn? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By Pineknot_86
  • 2 Post By holtzdreher

post #1 of 13 Old 07-30-2019, 08:09 AM Thread Starter

View hawkeye10's Photo Album My Photos
How did you learn to turn?

I have started off using carbide tools and I have been doing pretty good for a self-taught turner. I am now wanting to learn how to use conventional tools and I am finding it a lot harder to learn. I have been thinking about taking lessons if I can find someone to teach me. So the question is did you guys take lessons or are you self taught?

Don in Murfreesboro, TN.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 07-30-2019, 08:46 AM

View Pineknot_86's Photo Album My Photos
I bought a used lathe several years ago and it went kapooey. Got a new Rikon. Have a set of Harbor Freight tools but some are never used. My first turning was a piece of 2x4 and a dull wood chisel! Two things I did- join AAW and a local club; www.woodturner.org is the site. You can search for a local club. Both are well worth the investment to learn. Welcome to the forum!!!!
Kerrys likes this.

A diamond is how coal reacts under pressure.
post #3 of 13 Old 07-30-2019, 11:11 AM

View Tool Agnostic's Photo Album My Photos
Multimodal, and still learning. I learn from books and magazines. I belong to a club. I ask a lot of questions. Fortunately, my friends have been understanding. Sometimes I learn from the internet. I prefer text with photos, but will watch an occasional YouTube video. Most important, I keep practicing on scrapwood and real hardwoods. I use both HSS and carbide tools.

The woodturning skill I needed the most was learning to sharpen the HSS tools well. I use a Grizzly wet grinder with Tormek jigs. The woodturning skill I needed second most was learning to relax.

I like to learn from books, but not everyone does. Here is the best basic woodturning book I have found so far. It is somewhat dry, but thorough. The included DVD is also dry: