Hickory? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 15 Old 01-11-2012, 10:08 PM Thread Starter

View Temo's Photo Album My Photos
Question Hickory?

Hey guys. I'm new to wood turning.
I'm a drummer and I want to make my own sticks.
I currently buy sticks that come from Mexico because they're not available here in the states. In mexico, they cost about 2-3 dollars to make. Here, they are sold for about 10 bucks a pair. Theyre about 3/4" thick and 16" long. They are made of a hardwood that I really don't know what it's called. I will post pics of them later on.

I started turning oak dowel rods ( purchased at home depot ). I pretty much got the hang of the lathe and tools for it. I made about 5 pairs of oak drum sticks but when it came to showtime, it felt as if the wood was too light. After a couple of songs, the sticks started chipping and to the point of almost braking.

I know that good sticks ( vic firth, pro mark, etc ) are made of hickory. I've searched for hickory dowel rods at home depot and lowes but they seem to just carry oak dowels. I've also checked online and can't find any places around my area that sell hickory rods. I saw some websites that sell hickory rods for kinda cheap, if bought in bulk, but i just need a couple not tons! Then again, the sellers are located in the eastern states. It will take forever to deliver the rods to me here in cali.

Does anyone know of any places around the area where I can find these dowel rods asap? Or does anyone have any rods that 3/4" or 7/8" and 17" or longer for sale?
The Following User Says Thank You to Temo For This Useful Post:
Rumpy (01-15-2012)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 01-11-2012, 10:14 PM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos