Helpppppp!!!!!!! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 15 Old 04-13-2012, 11:52 PM Thread Starter
1 inch and 3 little marks

View crookedcut's Photo Album My Photos
Helpppppp!!!!!!!

ok i got problems.... why do my tools keep catching it dnt matter what i do they catch.... is the angle of the gring on the tips not rite from the factory???? i got good sharp tools im new to turning and this is wearing me out...

hold my beer and watch this!!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 04-14-2012, 12:02 AM
No Longer Here

View rrbrown's Photo Album My Photos
Sounds like maybe wrong presentation of the tool.
post #3 of 15 Old 04-14-2012, 12:03 AM
The New Guy

View Itchytoe's Photo Album My Photos
You could be trying to take off too much wood at a time. Slow and steady is best. You might just think the tools are sharp. Did you sharpen them, or are you trusting them to be sharp from the factory? You may have your tool rest at the wrong height. Is it where it should be for the tool you're using? You may not be using the bevel. Are you laying the bevel on the wood, then raising the handle till it starts to cut, or just jabbing the tool in there? Which tool are you using? A skew? A scraper? A spindle gouge? What kind of wood are you turning? Are you turning at the right speed? Is the wood round, or are you still working on knocking the corners off and getting it trued up?
The Following User Says Thank You to Itchytoe For This Useful Post:
sawdustfactory (04-14-2012)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 15 Old 04-14-2012, 12:04 AM
No Longer Here

Every tool has a different way to present it to cut properly. Start with more detail questions as in type of wood, type tool what cut you are trying to perform and maybe someone will offer a solution.

John Lucas has some good video's and they have a lot of other talented turners here that will help.
post #5 of 15 Old 04-14-2012, 12:07 AM
No Longer Here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Itchytoe View Post