HELP Turning Pool cues - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 04-16-2008, 03:47 PM Thread Starter

View Big E's Photo Album My Photos
HELP Turning Pool cues

I am really new to turning and wanted to know if anyone has any suggestion on what type of wood to use for turning a pool cue. I know you can use just about anything but I wanted to know what is recomended and what will also look great. Also if anyone knows of any links or magazine articles that could help me that would be great too. And also any help on some inlay work on the cue as well. Thanks in advace for all of yall imput.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 04-16-2008, 04:27 PM
Just call me Sir

View littlebuddha's Photo Album My Photos
You might want to go to this forum and have a look at this guys work, you might have to reg. LB..

http://www.woodworkforums.ubeaut.com...ad.php?t=34380
post #3 of 7 Old 04-20-2008, 06:57 AM

View Graphiti's Photo Album My Photos
Very good advice littlebuddha, excellent step by step layout of what's involved in building a pool cue.

I use very different methods with my cues, I have two custom cue companies. Unfortunatly most of my methods are trade secrets so I'm glad you posted that link.

Big E, if you have any questions about cues I'd be happy to answer them. My current methods have evolved so far from the router method over the last 10 years that I can tell you anything you want to know about the router method without divulging trade secrets.

I don't want to seem snobish by keeping stuff secret but i currently make my employees sign nondisclosure paperwork before they can even see the shop, and I'm working on patents for several of my custom tools and tooling methods.
Best of luck,
Randy.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 Old 04-21-2008, 12:04 PM Thread Starter

View Big E's Photo Album My Photos
Router

Graphiti,