Help Removing Cup center from Tailstock Spindle - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 05-14-2010, 12:13 AM Thread Starter

View pdmcclan's Photo Album My Photos
Help Removing Cup center from Tailstock Spindle

I could really use some help. I am new to wood turning and have an old Sears lathe I am trying to learn on. It has a #1 Morse taper. The cup center is firmly stuck in the tail stock spindle. I have removed the spindle from the tail stock and soaked it in Liquid Wrench for over a week, but it still is not possible to tap out the cup center using a hardwood dowel. Any suggestions on how to get it out? I haven't been able to find where I might buy a new tail stock spindle due to the age of the lathe (1970's era). I would really appreciate any advice on what else I can try. Thanks!

Last edited by pdmcclan; 05-14-2010 at 12:26 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 05-14-2010, 09:40 AM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
It may simply take more soaking. I have been rebuilding a metal lathe steady rest that was pretty rusted. It took 2 weeks of soaking every day to get the last part loose.
I usually use a little heat to swell and contract the parts to make the liquid wrench soak in better but in this case I couldn't. I also find tapping on the part to create some vibrations helps to get the stuff to penetrate.
After trying that, rap on the part harder. Sometimes a stuck morse taper really needs some force to remove it.
post #3 of 9 Old 05-14-2010, 10:10 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Another suggestion

The piece may be held in by hydraulic suction in which case a small hole could be drilled if there is none there. The suggestion to tap is good and it needs to be opposite to the length or at right angles, and be backed up with a heavy steel block or large hammer a few sharp raps will vibrate it loose. bill