Help me save my bowl gouge - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 06-21-2014, 03:32 PM Thread Starter

View MidKnight's Photo Album My Photos
Help me save my bowl gouge

I'm a bowl turning newbie. Just took a class at Woodcraft. It's awesome.

Here's the setup: I have typical starter set of lathe tools... the Benjamin's Best setup. It came with a bowl gouge. I tried to sharpen it with my wolverine / varigrind jig. I screwed it up. Big time.

I tried to rescue it using the settings found on this PDF.

http://www.carlford.info/pages/jigs_..._Templates.pdf

I seem to be doings something wrong. Below are the pictures I took of my abused tool.

Any suggestions on how to fix my mistakes would be greatly appreciated. Keep in mind that if this is too far gone I can get another just like it for less than 20 bucks. Or I can get a Woodriver or something for in the mid fifties.

Thanks in advance!

Oh, and it looks rusty because I was dipping it in water to cool it and I guess I didn't dry it very well.

Last edited by MidKnight; 06-21-2014 at 03:38 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 06-21-2014, 04:04 PM
Yea i got wood

View robert421960's Photo Album My Photos
ok after a close look it is off but not terrible bad
just looks like you need to follow those directions and grind it more on the wings near the center !!
hope that makes sense

Last edited by robert421960; 06-21-2014 at 04:08 PM.
post #3 of 11 Old 06-21-2014, 05:22 PM

View Bill Boehme's Photo Album My Photos
I can't see how you have the Vari-Grind set, but from the look of things, I would set it to approximate the shape of a swept back Ellsworth grind. Also the nose angle seems to be a bit too pointy for a beginner. I would go for a more blunt angle of about 60.