Gluing - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 01-10-2010, 03:27 PM Thread Starter

View LadyLihai's Photo Album My Photos
Question Gluing

I'm new to woodworking and am starting on the lathe. I know this probably sounds like a bad idea, but my husband is a carpenter/woodworker and I've learned a lot from him and I'm an artist, so I've done other forms of sculpture before.

In any case, here's my question: I would like to start with a small, simple bowl and will be using a faceplate. I'd like to glue a scrap on to the bottom with the paper in the middle, just as I've read in so many online tutorials, so I don't bore screws into my finished piece. I have 2 questions:

1) What's the best glue to use?
2) The blocks of exotic wood I received for Christmas are covered in a wax. Is there an easy way to remove this so the glue will adhere? Or do I need to plane it down?

TIA,

~L
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 01-10-2010, 07:23 PM

View Neal Addy's Photo Album My Photos
Hi L,

1) What's the best glue to use?

Some use CA but I prefer Titebond. Here's a good article on waste blocks. Wally knows what he's doing.
http://www.sazwa.org/WasteBlock.pdf

2) The blocks of exotic wood I received for Christmas are covered in a wax. Is there an easy way to remove this so the glue will adhere? Or do I need to plane it down?

Will you be using a bandsaw to round the block? If so, I would just round it, mount it between centers, and turn a flat surface for your glue block. The wax will be gone within seconds. You'll have to remove the small nub left by your tailstock but it will be easier than planing the entire block (IMO).
post #3 of 11 Old 01-10-2010, 08:11 PM
HLW

View HLW's Photo Album My Photos
Hi L.