give me a challenge - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 12 Old 12-15-2011, 12:23 AM Thread Starter

View bond3737's Photo Album My Photos
give me a challenge

My lady read this title and said: You sound like your being cocky. SO- to clarify- Im not being cocky:) Im not saying- ahhh all this turning business is so easy. I know Im a beginner Im saying show me something extremely difficult to do so I can expand in my abilities as a turner in trying to accomplish it. Now Im not a rich guy and would like to set a budget of 30 bucks in terms of extras. Here is what I have to work with in terms of tools and such. Your average turning tools and a goose neck sorby hollowing tool, bench grinder, crappy lathe 12" capacity. sanding paper up to 600 grit. and can only use a faceplate-no chuck. So challenge me fellow turners he said in the least cocky way imaginable. I want to get good
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 12-15-2011, 12:40 AM

View sawdustfactory's Photo Album My Photos
Turn a bowl with continuous curve, no straight sides, both inside and out, down to 1/8" thick. Then take it to the bandsaw and cut it in 1/2 to show us how close you got.

That bowl was perfect right up until that last cut...
post #3 of 12 Old 12-15-2011, 12:59 AM

View ronjboucher's Photo Album My Photos
impress your bride

Quote:
Originally Posted by bond3737 View Post