first pen disaster: wild choke cherry - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 19 Old 07-12-2010, 10:24 AM Thread Starter

View duncsuss's Photo Album My Photos
first pen disaster: wild choke cherry

I picked up a couple of pen blanks at Rockler, the first one I tried turning was the wild choke cherry.

It didn't go too well ... a huge chunk tore out of the middle one section, a smaller one tore off at the end of the other.

At this point, the best I can do is try to make this into a learning experience ... I guess the first question should be "is there a way to avoid tearout, and if so what are the best techniques?"

(Just so you know the level to pitch at, I'm an absolute beginner -- exactly 2 pens turned prior to this attempt, one of those during the lesson at the local Woodcraft store.)

Follow up questions: as a rule of thumb, how frequently should I stop turning and give a roughing gouge a quick touch-up on the sharpening wheel? and how often for a skew?

Thanks in advance --

Duncan

Please visit my website, Fruit of the Lathe
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 07-12-2010, 11:05 AM

View jlord's Photo Album My Photos
I sharpen my turning tools quit often while making pens. I have a slow speed grinder with the wolverine jig so it only takes a few seconds to touch up a cutting edge. You want to keep your edges sharp. Try taking lighter cuts. Were your blanks glued fully to the pen tubes? I used to use CA glue for wood blanks. Now I mostly use 5 min apoxy. Glue up in the evening then turn the next day. I apply glue in blank with a thin wood coffee stirer. Roll tube in puddle of epoxy. Insert tube then clean up with acetone using q-tip to clean epoxy out of tube.

After awhile you will get the feel of what you are doing.

James
Whittier, CA.

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should!
post #3 of 19 Old 07-12-2010, 11:43 AM Thread Starter

Thanks for answering -- of course, every answer creates a dozen more questions ...

Quote: