First hollow form attempt - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 27 Old 04-01-2012, 11:25 PM Thread Starter
Firewood Inquisitor

View sprior's Photo Album My Photos
First hollow form attempt

This is my first attempt at turning a "hollow form". The outside shape is a bit blocky because I was doing this for the practice of doing the inside and frankly I figured there was a less than 50% chance this would ever make it off the lathe so I didn't worry about the outside shape much. It did survive and has a wall thickness of about 1/4 - 3/8" all around. This wood was an oak tree in our yard last Tuesday. The pith is still in the center of the bottom, so there's a decent chance it'll crack. I did this with my new Rolly Munro Articulated Hollowing Tool2 which I bought after seeing a recent demo.
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 Old 04-02-2012, 12:11 AM

View Lilty's Photo Album My Photos
With the pith in yes it will crack.
post #3 of 27 Old 04-02-2012, 07:44 AM

View Nate Bos's Photo Album My Photos
Great job!, how do you like the new tool?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 27 Old 04-02-2012, 08:39 AM Thread Starter
Firewood Inquisitor

I'm still a bit confused about how the Munro tool should be used - I got seemingly conflicting instructions on how to use it. The instructions that came with the tool talk about starting by riding the tool on the depth limiter as the bevel and then rotating the tool clockwise into the cut. The local turner that gave the demo said "place the bottom of the cutter against the wood (that's the bevel); now, slowly roll the tool counter clockwise until the edge starts to take a nice shaving." The Munro instructions seem to have the bevel on the top of the tool and the local turner has it on the bottom.

So yesterday I was trying to follow the local turner, will try the instruction approach next.