• 1 Post By Steve Neul
  • 1 Post By Quickstep
  • 1 Post By hawkeye10
  • 1 Post By Buckmark13

post #1 of 13 Old 05-30-2019, 08:16 AM Thread Starter
Spinner of Wood

View TwelveFoot's Photo Album My Photos
Finishing Natural Edge (with bark?)

Turned a Hornbeam burl the other day. This is my first attempt at something like this.

Right now it’s turned thick and in a paper bag to dry. So assuming the bark survives that what would anyone recommend? I was thinking Danish Oil might soak in and garden enough to stabilize it a little. Or should I give up and go ahead and take the bark off?

Name:  796014E7-1698-4D82-8244-5C5AA9D99DB4_1559218512899.jpg
Views: 96
Size:  455.9 KB
JohnTC likes this.

~Mark

I confuse myself daily, keeps life interesting and exciting.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 05-30-2019, 10:37 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
All the Danish oil might do is slow the drying time down a little. Might reduce the possibility of it cracking too.

Whether the bark stays on or not usually depends on what time of year the tree was cut down. If the tree was cut in winter when it was dormant it stands a better chance of retaining the bark.
TwelveFoot likes this.
The Following User Says Thank You to Steve Neul For This Useful Post:
TwelveFoot (06-01-2019)
post #3 of 13 Old 05-31-2019, 02:45 PM

View Quickstep's Photo Album My Photos
I don't know anything about preserving bark, but the turning is absolutely stunning!
TwelveFoot likes this.
The Following User Says Thank You to Quickstep For This Useful Post:
TwelveFoot (06-01-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 Old 06-01-2019, 10:40 AM

View hawkeye10's Photo Album My Photos
I have read that you should put shavings in the bag also. You should weigh it now and check it's weight every week or so. You can buy a digital scale pretty cheap on Ebay if you don't have one. I hope someone will correct me or add to what I have posted. I am new to turning.
TwelveFoot likes this.