Few Questions - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 09-17-2010, 12:20 PM Thread Starter

View elks's Photo Album My Photos
Few Questions

OK guys,

I am a new Industrial Arts Teacher and have a pretty nice wood shop. In it I have 2 lathes. I have never used a lathe before, but was curious as to the capabilities of my machines. They are both larger machines. I was hoping to have students turn table legs, pens, hunting calls and bowls. Here are the specs on my 2 lathes:

The newer one is a Powermatic 220V model #3520B

The older one is a delta in a blue grey color, I could not find a model number only a serial number. It is just slightly smaller than the powermatic. It runs on 110 and have a V belt drive with the motor in in a box below.

Any input on these machines would be great.

Rob
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 09-17-2010, 01:29 PM
No Longer Here

View rrbrown's Photo Album My Photos
Rob I'm no expert but if the lathe is 220v it should be powerful enough for sure. As for the brands Powermatic and Jet are both good brands.

I have a question for you. You a new Industrial Arts teacher that has never used a lathe. How are you supposed to teach the students? Any lathe is dangerous enough if you don't know how to use it but a lathe with a 220V motor is going to have some serious power and increase the accident potential if not properly used.

Just my opinion, but after 25+ years of experience and having just lost a finger in a table saw accident, I have a unique view of things from what I use to.
post #3 of 4 Old 09-17-2010, 02:51 PM Thread Starter

View elks's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrbrown View Post
Rob I'm no expert but if the lathe is 220v it should be powerful enough for sure. As for the brands Powermatic and Jet are both good brands.